top of page

In My Unqualified Opinion: How to Get into Grad School and Things to Consider

Due to my extreme stubbornness and specific research interests, my path to grad school has been rather unconventional when I compare notes with those around me. I chose a place to go based off of many things other than my research and got in contact with my now advisor almost 6 months before applying for schools. To understand why, and before I can give you a list of things to consider when applying, I need to go all the way back and talk about my experience as an undergrad first.

Basically, when I was applying to schools for my bachelors, there were few things I considered other than the quality of the program I was applying to. I knew I wanted to learn about plants, and find a program that would give me a comprehensive education. I don’t regret this decision. In fact, I believe it would be hard to find a better department or program than Purdue when it comes to botany. My department only had around 40 students total, so the research opportunities for us were immense and easily accessible. I got hands-on lab experience in everything from plant ecology to fungal systematics and it was because of this that I was able to figure out what I wanted out of my graduate career.

On the other hand, the location was lacking to say the least. There was hardly anything to do for miles around. The campus was located in the middle of corn fields and the Indiana suburbs. Not to mention, I was woefully unprepared for the weather. Having lived in California my entire life I never really even realized what extreme weather looked like or the affect it would have on my mood. Judge me all you want for it, but it really took a toll on me emotionally.

For these reasons when looking into grad school I decided I wouldn’t just consider the program, but I would need to consider multiple other factors. I’ll break them down in an itemized list below and then expand on them.

Things to consider:

  1. Location

  2. Relationship with advisor

  3. Department culture

  4. Funding

Location: Do you like to hike or are you more of a couch potato? Do you love the snow and the cold or do you crave the hot summer sun? Do you like the big city or do you like the quiet of the countryside and suburbia? Although a less than ideal location is sometimes unavoidable, I believe this is a hugely important factor to consider when on the hunt to apply for graduate school. Mental health is a big issue for graduate students as it is with the amount of pressure and workload. You want to make sure you’re in a place where you can find refuge and reprieve from your busy schedule. A place that doesn’t compound the stress and anxiety you might already experience. I love Santa Barbara for the moderate Mediterranean climate, the proximity to the ocean, and closeness to both my hometown and Los Angeles. I can relax and enjoy the weather or go out and experience a great night out depending on my mood. Or if I’m really feeling up to it, I am not limited by my location, and can head home, to LA, or San Francisco if I want to escape for the weekend.

Relationship to Advisor: This one has a bit to do with both getting in to graduate school as well as just being something to consider in choosing a school to go to. An advisor you’re working with should not only have relevant research that aligns with your interests, but a personality you can vibe with. This doesn’t necessarily mean you and your advisor should be best friends. On the contrary, if you’re too close with your advisor then you may not get the tough love required to make good science. You should gel enough to be able to talk to one another freely about ideas and issues concerning you research as well as any sort of life issues you may be having. Some other advice would be to get in contact with prospective advisors way before the application deadlines for the schools you’re looking at. Pick locations you like, find universities that look good to you, and then look at faculty’s research and publications. Send them an email introducing yourself and asking if they have the funding for any PhD or Master’s students. If they respond, and give you a positive response, start a conversation. Don’t email back and forth for too long. Get on the phone or Skype and call a couple times to talk about possible projects. Maybe even arrange a campus visit if they will have you before the application is turned in or you are accepted. If you develop a relationship with a prospective advisor before applying, it makes getting into the program much, much easier than just sending in a blind application. If a faculty member decides they want you, there is very little that can stop them from acquiring you as a student.

Department culture: This one is a little harder to get a feel for than the other factors you should consider. When talking to your prospective advisor, or when visiting the campus and meeting with other graduate students in the program, ask. Is the graduate culture in the department one that is really close? Do they do a lot of things together or is it the opposite? Usually the area in which the school is located will also contribute to this. Santa Barbara for instance is very outdoor activity oriented and health conscious.

Funding: Figure out the funding situation for your degree that you’re looking to get. Do they do a stipend? This is actually something that should be hugely important in your decision making. If you are going to have to pay for your degree, even a masters, don’t go there. The school should be able to cover your tuition if you TA. They should also pay you a stipend that you can live off of… at least for the most part. In an area such as Santa Barbara, which has an extremely high cost of living, being completely financially independent may not be an option. A lot of us make ends meet, but you won’t be living large. In some other places your stipend may take you further. So your stipend is definitely something else to consider. If the place you are thinking about doesn’t provide a stipend, don’t go there. Even thinking along the lines of research, if the school doesn’t cover the cost of your education and provide a stipend, how much money are they likely to have for you to conduct your research?

The Bottom Line: Go someplace you will be comfortable and happy. You will be most productive and best able to conduct your research in a place you WANT to live. Graduate school, just like undergrad, isn’t just about what you achieve, but the experience of getting there.

Edited by Kate Culhane

Welcome

The research, lives, and thoughts of first year graduate students in the ecology, evolution, and marine biology dept. at UCSB.

Insta Feed
Twitter Feed
Blog Categories
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Get new posts right in your inbox!

bottom of page